SA ready to support

As countries across the world struggle to deal with the issue of immigration South Africa,

 in partnership with the Southern African Development Community (SADC) region, will look at innovative ways to find solutions to the challenge.

“We have been working hard with SADC sister countries to find solutions to this international challenge, especially the problem of illegal immigration,”

 said President Jacob Zuma, while addressing foreign dignitaries, heads of missions and diplomats on international relations issues.

The President noted that South Africa experiences a mixed flow of migration,

made up of people who are genuinely asylum seekers and people who leave their countries of origin seeking better opportunities.

To combat illegal immigration the countries engage with each other through the Joint Permanent Commission on Defence

and Security with Botswana, Mozambique, Namibia, Zimbabwe and Tanzania, he added.

“Joint immigration inspections are regularly held at selected ports of entry by officials from respective partner countries.”

Another challenge facing the SADC region is that borders separate families and communities.

“In some instances, the borderline does not effectively act as a barrier to these communities, particularly those that conduct normal day-to-day activities such as schooling, trade and medical care as they will keep coming each day.

“This situation demands innovative solutions. We are partnering with SADC neighbours to ensure the proactive facilitation of designated community crossing points.”

 The South African and Botswana governments will work together to launch.

one designated community crossing point that will help to make movements across the two countries easier.

“We will launch the innovative project soon in Tshidilamolomo, a village situated on the border between South Africa and Botswana,” said President Zuma.

Currently, South Africa chairs the SADC Organ on Public Safety and Security Sub Committee that is aimed at promoting the free movement of persons.

The President said that the organ was discussing protocols relating to a SADC Uni-visa and plans to combat illegal immigration and human trafficking.

The single visa will allow entry into countries in the 15-member regional bloc, which includes Angola, Botswana, Democratic Republic of Congo, Lesotho,

Madagascar, Malawi, Mauritius, Mozambique, Namibia, Seychelles, South Africa, Swaziland, Tanzania, Zambia and Zimbabwe.

For more information:  ฮานอยสามัคคี

About ปราณี

Check Also

Thank You Walter Rybka

Thank You Walter Rybka

I would like to …